Injury Update

So I have not ran properly since the 4th October. That is 54 days of NO running…it has been a long 54 days!

I tell a lie, I ran once, as a test before the physio and it ended abruptly after 15 minutes as there was still a considerable amount of pain. That was about 4 weeks ago and I have been cold turkey since.

To help the injury I have been doing eccentric heel drops every day, stretching out the calves and have been wearing a night splint when I can. The night splint is HORRID!! I always wake up half way through the night and have to take it off. I have also been seeing a physio once a week and getting massages and what not to help it.

On Wednesday I was given the all clear to get running so that will be todays challenge. I am to do 25 minutes of cross training (that is on the cross trainer not the actual sport cross training – why give it that name it is just bloody confusing!!) and then do 5 minutes of run/walking on grass or astroturf. This will be built up every 2/3 days so the time cross training comes down and the time run/walking goes up. I will see how I get on with this and then once I am up to 30 minutes run/walking I will start to reduce the walking time. I am PRAYING that the pain will have all but gone…but I really don’t know until I start running.

I had such high hopes for this year and they have been ruined by injury so I really want to start 2016 with a healthy body ready to rock and roll!!

To keep up my fitness while I have been off running I have been going to a lot of spin classes. I have to say I have been really enjoying them! I plan to continue going to 2 of them a week once I start running again as a form of injury prevention. I have also been doing a few weights sessions which again I have surprisingly enjoyed. I am still TERRIBLE at squats and deadlifts but my arm strength and lunges are definitely getting better.

I will keep you updated with how the run/walk sessions go but fingers crossed I am on the road to recovery!

Jx

One thought on “Injury Update

Leave a Reply

